Dandelion Syrup

Not going to lie, I did get a couple of funny looks when I picked a bunch of dandelion flowers, none the less it was a worthwhile endever.

First off, I picked the best looking dandelion flowers, then I gave them a soapy wash to remove any bugs, bacteria or dirt, I let them soak for 15 minutes. I collected about 25 in total.

Washing Dandelions

After which I rinsed them with water, and allowed them to air dry. Then I began removing the petals from the stems. Dandelion petals are sweet whereas the leaves and steams are bitter.

Pulling leaves apart.jpg

Once all the petals had been removed and sorted I began work on the syrup.

Dandelion Petals.jpg

For the base of the syrup I used 100g honey to 200ml water with the juice of a lemon.

Honey water

After I added the petals, I put a lid on the plan and let simmer on a low heat for 30 minutes making the syrup thick.

Danelion simmer

After simmering, I poured the syrup into a jug and let cool in a fridge over night allowing the flavour to seep out.

Syrup before strain

After that I strained the syrup using a cheesecloth.

Strain

Finally we have the golden yellow nectar of the dandelion flower.

Dandelion Syrup

This couldn’t have worked out better, the reason I only created this much was it’s purpose was for one cocktail.

 

Leave a Reply

